Skip to content

Picnic in Bagh

January 16, 2016

Its Harvest Festival here in South India and is celebrated all over India with different names, customs and yummy food.

Ponglaoooo……. Pongal.

For all those who were searching for the nearest gardens to have a picnic this afternoon or weekend and landed here…. or if you think its about my picnic in gardens…. you might be disappointed πŸ™‚

This is my first 2016 sew, incidentally its also my first Oliver+S make. While i have been following the brand for more than 5 years (gosh i waited too long to take the plunge) and own two patterns in bigger sizes… This is my first make.

Picnic Blouse in Bagh Fabric
Ms J in her new blouse, a day after i completed it, She wore it when we had to step out for an appointment.
SEW-PinkBagh Picnic-Ms J2

I am totally in love with this pink version of Picnic Blouse made from soft block printed cotton from Bagh.
May be its the cleverness of Oliver+S Patterns…
May be its how nicely the pattern fits in with traditional indian print.
Maybe coz i turned odd shaped leftover fabric from this skirt into a lovely summer top (yup its already hot in Chennai… combined with cold nights means its sniffles for everyone)
Maybe coz Ms J is looking super cute.. πŸ˜‰
May be its everything together… totally love how it turned out.

SEW-PinkBagh Picnic-Ms J1

Details
Pattern: Oliver+S Picnic Blouse
Fabric: Bagh print cotton fabric from Mrignayanee
Size: 12-18m
Notes:
Though she will be 18m in couple of 4 weeks, i made it in 12-18m size. The blouse is roomy with space to grow.
I followed the pattern and instructions to the dot this time but there are lots of ideas floating in my head about some future modifications.

SEW-PinkBagh Picnic-Front
I am OK with that little bit of elastic showing, its mentioned on the forum couple of times that the elastic came undone after couple of washes and i am not a fan of mending… so didn’t quite pull the elastic while cutting off the excess.

Such a quick sew that my tiny stash of bagh fabrics will be turned into picnic blouses.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. fiveandcountingblogspotcomau permalink
    January 16, 2016 12:44 pm

    Ah, she is so cute!
    I generally have a peep of elastic too, I prefer my sewing sturdy.
    Congrats on your first O+S sew, heres to many more.
    xx N

    • January 16, 2016 7:45 pm

      Thank you Nicole for your kind encouragement and lovely comment about Ms J. I don’t like mending at all.. Only do it when it is absolutely necessary.

  2. January 19, 2016 7:15 am

    Another cute finish from you for this doll!! I bet it is so comfortable while being stylish too πŸ™‚

    • January 19, 2016 10:29 am

      Thank you Preeti, it sure is comfortable and I will be making couple more for the summer.

      On Tuesday, 19 January 2016, Whats Happening @ The Verandah wrote:

      >

  3. January 28, 2016 12:24 pm

    lovely…

Trackbacks

  1. Batik Picnic | Whats Happening @ The Verandah

Leave a comment