Skip to content

Chennai Weekend – Craft Store in Parrys

June 15, 2008

A week back I wanted to pick some more goodies for my swap partner before visiting the post office. Instead of visiting my usual craft shops, i thought of going to parrys ( its an area in chennai, which used to be one stop shopping area). With the guidence of Jayanthi, i zeroed on RR Fancy Stores.
Nobody at home is comfortable with the idea of me visiting parrys alone for the first time so my DH accompanied me. Its a little more than an hour journey from home which i enjoyed even in the mid summer as the MTC bus is almost empty.
RR Fancy Stores
Location
The shop is in the lane adjacent to “Saravana Bhavan”. Its walkable from “High Court” or the Broadway bus station. As most of the craft shops in chennai, this is also a multi craft shop.
Address
#8,Broadway (Near Hotel Saravana Bhavan),
Umpherson Street, Chennai, 600108
Available ( only what i have seen, may be more are in the shelves)
Jewellery making stuff ( no sterling silver and no wire also)
Tonnes of beads ( wooden beads are also available)
Buttons
Cane/ Plastic Handles
Crochet thread
Anchor knitting cotton – 50gm – 55 Rs,
Anchor perle cotton no. 8 ( solids and multi color) – 10gm – 21Rs,
Modi thread no. 8 (solids) – 10gm – 21Rs
Coats red heart No. 8 – 50gm – 72Rs
Unnamed thread No. 8 – 100gm – N/A
Local pattern books for cross-stitch, crochet
fabric paints, brushes, designs
embroidery thread, needles, patterns
painting kits, cross-stich kits
cane baskets ( used in flower arrangements)

I didnt see any yarn used for knitting (even acrylic). yes they have some colors in Anchor knitting cotton (its better for crochet).
I could not explore the shop to my satisfaction as i have pick some goodies for my spoilee and also my DH is around.
No Pics, as most of the stuff i got is for my spoilee and i cannot show them here.
Here are pics of some cane handles i bought to send as a part of RAK to US.
RAK2 cane 2RAK1 cane 1

I think there are lot more craft stores in parrys. Hope i will get another chance to go there, meanwhile if anyone knows any craft store in parrys do leave a comment here.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. pavneet anand permalink
    August 26, 2008 11:09 am

    hello, i require knitting cotton shade number 52.

  2. iaminchennai permalink
    August 26, 2008 2:29 pm

    What should i do????

  3. tanha permalink
    April 30, 2009 3:31 pm

    Did u found any yarn shop[knitting]?
    If so pls let me know, am also looking for yarn shop in chennai.

  4. May 7, 2009 12:30 pm

    Hi,
    I’m new in Chennai and am looking for decent wire (either silver or base metal) for my occasional jewelry projects. Would appreciate any help u could give me
    thanx
    M

  5. joe permalink
    August 4, 2009 3:48 pm

    for any of the jewelery projects(wires,beads,hooks etc) you may visit perumal mudali street in parrys. THe place i used to go and have bought many is – Oswal Trading company ,No.48 Perumal Mudali Street,chennai – 78 ,Ph : 65338811

  6. Marilyn permalink
    August 5, 2009 10:57 am

    @Joe, Thanks a Ton, will check it out next time I’m in the area 🙂

  7. September 5, 2009 7:08 pm

    Hi,

    That was some useful information. Thank you!

  8. padma priya permalink
    October 15, 2009 9:24 am

    Hi,

    I am regular visitor of ur site.I want to start quite few projects in knitting.So i need soem 5-6 skiens of yarn in different colours.I searched in raja store,R.s etc etc.I didnt get to my satisfaction.When u were in chennai where you used to buy yarn or else where you usually procure yarn.Thanks in advance.

  9. Divya permalink
    May 12, 2011 1:10 pm

    Hey, i need size 10 thread. Will the shop in Parry’s have it???

  10. rose permalink
    July 14, 2012 3:36 pm

    Hi friends in parrys where i can get watercolour board (with textured)……….. plssssss let me know as soon as possible deed address

  11. Kayal permalink
    April 10, 2013 11:21 pm

    http://goodgrace.wordpress.com/chennai-craft-shops/
    u can also check in the site.. they have list of stores for knitting materials.

  12. Akbar Khan permalink
    October 27, 2013 12:29 pm

    Can u send me phone no of RR Fancy stores

  13. Jeya Pushapa Latha permalink
    May 18, 2015 9:37 am

    Now the store was closed…

  14. May 21, 2016 5:59 pm

    Can anyone inform me where can we personally procure REDHEART brand acralyc yarn for crocheting in Chennai?

    • Rajalakshmi Balachandran permalink
      January 17, 2017 12:53 pm

      RAIN BOW SHOP AT NARAYANA MUDALI STREET, PARIS, CHENNAI, TAMIL NADU, INDIA.

Leave a Reply

