Skip to content

Ayashe Sisters

May 8, 2016

Ayashe Sisters

Here are the girls wearing their Ayashe blouses, for a trip to cinemas to see the Kung Fu Panda 3.
SEW-Ayashe Sisters

I was looking for a blouse with back yoke but not a button down shirt when I discovered this pattern. Even though I am late to jump on the Ayashe blouse pattern, happy I jumped.
SEW-Khadi Ayashe-Front SEW-Indigo Ayashe-Front

Also I finally dipped my sewing feet in Khadi and i am glad i did. The stripped khadi (Ms H’s blouse) is like a light weight voile and presses beautifully. My machine loved it so much that it tried to eat it couple of times. Ripping the seams is not easy on this fabric and it does ravel a bit and stretches out of shape easily especially on sleeves and necklines.

Pattern: Ayashe blouse by Figgys
Size: 4/5 and 18M
Fabric: Khadi stripes from Khadi Gramodhyog Bhavan
Mud resist indigo dyed cambric from Mrignayanee.

Notes:
There is no elastics or drawstring tie in the hem for both the blouses.
SEW-Khadi Ayashe-Back

SEW-Indigo Ayashe-Back1

For the Khadi blouse, the hem and sleeves are hand hemmed. The sleeve length is reduced so that its more like ¾ sleeve and there is no elastic in the sleeve. As i was setting-in the sleeves, i stay stitched the sleeve head which prevented stretching.
SEW-Khadi Ayashe-Hem

This is my first collar and it came out really nicely, again stay stitching the neckline is the key.
SEW-Khadi Ayashe-Collar

For the Indigo blouse, I pre hand-hemmed the sleeves and set them in flat even though the instructions say other wise. The short sleeves are super cute but a bit difficult to set them in round and hem them later.
SEW-Indigo Ayashe-Sleeve

I wish I made the neck ties a wee bit longer.
SEW-Indigo Ayashe-Neckline

Another thing is the neck opening, while Ms H could put it on without much difficulty she complained that the neck opening was a bit low… while an old camisole solved the problem temporarily, i should add a hook/eye. For Ms J, I trimmed the neck line near the shoulders so that her head goes through.

Overall lovely blouses for summer.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2016 11:02 pm

    Wow, really cute blouses, and your older one is already such a beauty …

    • May 11, 2016 9:40 am

      Thank you Deepa. Its a really nice pattern. Regarding H, thank you for the compliments….

  2. September 28, 2016 2:40 pm

    I love this top. Especially the one in stripey fabric. How are figgy’s patterns? Do you like them, as much as say Oliver+S? I would love to know.

    • October 12, 2016 2:51 pm

      Late reply due to Dussera holidays. The drafting is nice but by hand not a computer generated. Everything fits 🙂 instructions are a bit sketchy and assume prior know-how but their sew-along is great. Don’t expect Oliver+s (I think Leisl spoiled all of us :-)) I really loved the top so I picked the pattern ..

Trackbacks

  1. Khadi Picnic | Whats Happening @ The Verandah

Leave a comment