Skip to content

Mat and Dishcloths

November 14, 2010

Why are the days going so fast…. i really need them to slow down so that i can catch up:-)
Baby H is rolling all over the place now and last few days we were busy making the place a bit more friendly for her… We replaced the usual bed with a floor bed and removed most of the furniture from the room.

Regarding crafting I made these for my mum back in April, before baby H was born.

Sari to Mat
Crochet - SariYarn Doormat1

Yarn: Sari Yarn 🙂
Hook: 9mm
Size: around 25″x 15″
Pattern: followed a generic ellipse pattern

Making Mats with old cotton sarees and sheets is a great recycling project.
Somebody on Ravelry were asking about sari yarn and my hands started to itch…hehehhe. Luckly my mom had an old cotton sari for me to play… I ripped such that i will get one long continous strip of fabric; winding it into a ball as i go. Ripping is a great stressbuster (not that i was stressed at that time) its also a great timepass in front of the TV (stops you from munching crunchies infront of TV)

I think i finished it in week… my hands used to get tired after a few minutes of using the large hook even though i was using knife-hold instead of pencil-hold. This was all before baby H.. with her it would have taken me a month.

Best Dishcloths

Knit - Garter Dishcloth1

The dishcloths are made from cotton yarn from this swap . Its cotton and its bulky. I found it difficult to crochet and also it wasnt looking pretty. As for knit… I found the purls going too slow for my liking so Garter stitch it is. They are 6″ squares (almost). They are great for wiping tables and counters especially after a spill as they hold a lot of liquid.
My mom uses one to wipe the mirrors as the waterstains vanish after one wipe.

Its a day project.
(I said ‘Best’ coz they work better than the other ones i have made)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 12:47 am

    That mat is fantastic and what a great recycling idea!

  2. Manu permalink
    January 8, 2011 4:28 am

    Hi, what a great idea. Can you share the step by step procedure with pictures if it is not too hard? I have some old saris I would like to recycle. You have given a good project and did your part to save mother nature in one small way 🙂

  3. Manu permalink
    January 8, 2011 4:29 am

    Hi how are you, what a great idea, really!!. Can you share the step by step procedure with pictures if it is not too hard? I have some old saris I would like to recycle. You have given a good project and did your part to save mother nature in one small way 🙂

  4. Ammu permalink
    July 13, 2011 6:59 pm

    Hey.. u have a great site here.. where do u get the yarn for knitting in chennai.. and the mat is also a fantastic recycling idea.. will u share the details step by step.. should help ppl like me who arent as creative as u r..

Leave a Reply

