Skip to content

Jewellery – Hearty Earrings

February 14, 2010

HEARTY EARRINGS
Crochet - Hearty Earrings -FO3

History
The earrings are made as part of South Asian Crafters swap. Though i am not much into valentine day thing, i wanted something in those lines as my package will reaching my swap partner a few days before the day. I saw that she has made a couple of earrings with thread recently and thought why not a pair with hearts. luckily I had some bright red thread in my stash to begin with.
After this pair.. i can say i am totally into thread jewellery, either crochet/knit; may be a couple of things once in a while.

Yarn: Anchor knitting cotton
Hook: 3.25mm
Others: Beads, Findings, Starch
Size: 1″ x 1″ (probably a little more) apart from ear hook.
Pattern: Hearts are a modified version of Crochet Heart Ornament Pattern on Simplebeans.

Notes:

Crochet - Hearty Earrings -WIP2 Crochet - Hearty Earrings -WIP3
(The first photo shows the real color of the yarn)

Here are my changes..
-I started off with a magic ring, instead of doing the pattern in a chain loop.
-I added 3 beads to the last round; as you can see its a last-minute addition and not a planned one.
-The bead in the middle is added using the extra thread from the magic ring.

As usual i starched it using Ujala Stiff N Shine; but this time diluted it with only few drops of water. Actually the stronger the starch solution, the quicker it will dry… so work with it quickly while shaping the hearts. The whole thing will only take a couple of hours, including the time to starch and dry; I must say this is a real quick project.

By the way, the written pattern is a bit confusing (at least to me); so I suggest to go through the chart.

All Done
Crochet - Hearty Earrings -FO2

Packed and ready to be sent off….
Crochet - Hearty Earrings -PKD6 Crochet - Hearty Earrings -PKD5

Update – 17 Feb ’10 :
Couple of curious minds were asking about the card i made for the earrings. Here are a couple of photos to give you some idea.
Crochet - Hearty Earrings -PKD2
Supplies - Crazy Stock Supplies - Crazy Red1
– Cardstock in cream color is used to make the gift card cum jewellery tag to hold the earrings.
– The card is trimmed to a long narrow piece with enough width to accommodate the two earrings side by side.
– The card is then folded length-wise twice (see the pic).
– A separate card piece is attached to hook the earrings.
– I have some crazy material (got couple of colors, lucky to have red) which i suspect is cleaned/dried/colored coconut husk 🙂 made into a continuous strip.
– A heart shape out of this stuff and a small kundhan finished the card.
(Hope you got the idea…)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. unknowntheartist permalink
    February 14, 2010 4:31 pm

    Very cute, I have never seen threaded jewellery before. Great colour to work with as well!

  2. February 14, 2010 11:47 pm

    super cute.. especially for V day.
    BTW how did you make the card? any tutorial on that?

    • February 15, 2010 12:14 pm

      Thankyou Mazhalai…. Oh the card… hehehe I got some weird stuff in my stash.. I just cut a heart out of it and stuck a kundhan like thing.. Will post couple of photos and text to clarify the same, soon…

  3. vinnyvishy permalink
    February 15, 2010 11:04 am

    hey radhika
    lovely cute earings
    I’m ready to start with this
    I think I know to do these stitches
    I’ve done some patterns of doilies
    all the best
    expecting more
    -vinny

  4. February 15, 2010 11:10 am

    If I am not wrong, U r Radhika, I just read that in what Vinny said….. Beautiful earrings….. Well made……Perfect!!!! I am so happy to come here even because of the other Indian art blogs u have listed here….. I di not where else to have found them all…..

    God Bless!!!!

    Ash….
    (http://asha-oceanichope.blogspot.com/)

    • February 15, 2010 12:18 pm

      Yup Aasha, I am Radhika (Just check my “About Me” page… I have my name there…) Thankyou for the compliments on my earrings and my bloglist…

  5. Sudha permalink
    November 27, 2010 8:54 pm

    Hi. This is Sudha here. I just happened to see ur blog…its wonderful. I am into crafting too. i make head accesories for babies n kids. i love the earrings tht you have made. and i especially like the colored coconut husk u got, where did u get them from? n you got any idea where i can find grosgrain ribbons in chennai, are they available in the shops u mentioned?

    & R,
    sudha

  6. Sudha permalink
    November 27, 2010 8:55 pm

    Hi. This is Sudha here. I just happened to see ur blog…its wonderful. I am into crafting too. i make head accesories for babies n kids. i love the earrings tht you have made. and i especially like the colored coconut husk u got, where did u get them from? n you got any idea where i can find grosgrain ribbons in chennai, are they available in the shops u mentioned?

    T & R,
    sudha

  7. unik permalink
    February 11, 2014 4:39 pm

    Anybody know where to get the coloured coconut husk in chennai?

    • February 14, 2014 2:07 am

      Hi Unik, I can’t help you with Chennai, but i got these in Bangalore some 8 years back. They are in a interior decorating shop, along with dried flowers and stuff to fill the tall vases. I am really not sure what they are used for originally 🙂

Leave a Reply

