Skip to content

SEW – Denim Handbag

August 28, 2009
DENIM HANDBAG with CROCHET EMBELLISHMENT

SEW - Denim Bag1

History:My first set of sewing lessons are not so fruitful; it’s probably because i thought i know more than i know and messed up a lot… So for my second set i tried to take things easy and ended up with couple of useful things.
Size:
Pattern: The pattern is from a Japanese Embroidery Book “KYUUTO! JAPANESE CRAFTS WOOLLY EMBROIDERY” (to be exact) that i found at the library (I picked the book solely by the cover :)). The original is done in felt with embroidered flowers in the front.
Notes:
I thought of using a doily as embellishment (I think i saw something like that somewhere on flickr) but i was concerned about the time to crochet a doily (ofcourse choosing a doily pattern itself is so tough) and with the ideas from Jaishree and friends i choosed to do flowers.
SEW - Denim Bag2
The flowers are crocheted out of wrosted weight cotton yarn in natural colorway. The stems are a row of single crochet over a length of chain. Couple of wooden beads finished the whole setup. I somehow managed to stitch them onto the bag front (i think i used back stitch) If there is tute or vedio for whip-stitching the crocheted stuff on to a cloth i would like to know….. probably couple of pics might help me.

The pattern given in the book is not of true size and had to be enlarged … I enlarged the pattern manually by squares method (similar to you find in kids books). Then there is cutting, basting(I have to baste by hand before sewing with the machine), sewing.
SEW - WIP Denim Bag
I added the magnetic snaps for the closure and a small pocket inside. I added the snaps right after i cut the peices…I think i should have done them just before i sew up the lining on the inside. To sew the tight curve in the front with the magnetic snaps on the way… i had to use the zipper foot.

SEW - Denim Pockets
Since i ironed on the whole interface onto the denim cloth.. i didnt feel like throwing out the extra pieces… so they became small pouches (toned down version of Amy Karol’s Artsy Clutch).

Learnt a couple of lining methods and also learnt that i should take sewing slowing…

Time: A couple of weeks as i attend the sewing class only once a week.

SEW - Denim Bag n Pockets
I like how things turned out and they will all be coming out with me this weekend.

Oh!!! i almost forgot… The original has a running stitch round the armhole in the front (I am not sure you guys got it). Should i do in the white yarn or should i leave as it is….

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2009 11:08 am

    That is totally and completely cute!!!

  2. August 29, 2009 11:38 am

    Very nice! I love the bag, especially.

  3. August 30, 2009 4:00 am

    Nice embelishments and what a pretty chair!

  4. pearlin permalink
    August 30, 2009 9:19 pm

    That bag and the embellishments are gorgeous !!! I love love love it!

  5. September 1, 2009 10:39 pm

    The bag is beautiful! And the flowers are just perfect!

  6. September 5, 2009 11:25 pm

    lovely!! bag and pouches and flowers too!

  7. vinnyvishy permalink
    December 27, 2009 4:35 pm

    hey
    the bag is very nice
    looks gorgeous
    -vinny

Leave a comment