Skip to content

Jewellery – Leafy Granny

June 10, 2009
LEAFY GRANNY
FO - Leafy Granny


History
During my brief stint with jewellery almost an year back, i wanted to try crochet/knitting jewellery. A trip to the bead shop gave me the push i needed. I picked some bead and wire to experiment.

Materials: Wire, Hook, Beads, Ear hooks, Jump rings.
Pattern: Granny Square Earrings by Leigh Manson-Brown.
Notes:
I wasn’t thinking of making these when i made a trip to the bead store. They didnt have 30 and 32 gauge wire i was looking for, so i came back with 26 and 28 gauge wire and some czech pressed glass beads.

All they say about crocheting wire is true… now i know by experience.
Wire is unforgiving, adament, cruel, punishing….Unlike thread/yarn it goes its own way and it took couple of false starts before i could adapt myself to it.
It has its own advantages too; unevenness is part it, blocking is a breeze, the end result is very rewarding i must say (apart from sore shoulders, calloused fingers 😀 ).

FO - Leafy Granny1
No changes to the original pattern. since i didnt have briolette beads on hand, i used the leaf beads which had a horizontal hole on the top. I didnt have 20 gauge wire to wrap the bead so i used 26. please don’t look at my wire wrapping skills they need a lot of practise 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ramblingroses permalink
    June 11, 2009 10:39 am

    So very pretty!!! I love the way these turned out!!

  2. June 13, 2009 9:53 pm

    actually I am so away from your world (Crafty Adventures).

    But, i can say, this work is an “excellent one”

  3. January 30, 2010 12:45 pm

    I’m a big fan of your jewelery, Radhika..Your skills are awesome! tutorials PLEASE!

  4. Parvathy permalink
    October 3, 2011 6:03 pm

    Radhika,This earring is beautiful.I just found out your blog and I am loving it.

Leave a Reply

