Skip to content

PRINT: Yacht Fleet

March 11, 2009
YACHT FLEET

PRINT - Blue Yatch1

History
I am not sure if i can say a group of yachts, a fleet??? if you know a correct term, please do leave a message so that i can correct myself.
Last time (Class 3) i messed up my print… so this time (Class 4) i was a bit determined to do a decent print and also we were learning about “Repetitive prints”.
Supplies: Too many things to list…
Notes:
I choosed a simple design and i am back to 2 colors.
I was also experimenting with my stencil materials. I used a acetate sheet this time; last time i was using some glossy paper and i can say it is not at all suitable as it shrinks when it comes in contact with water and also there was a lot of bleeding. The advantage of acetate sheet is we can see where we are printing but the sheet becomes brittle and cannot be cleaned and reused later on. Also there was slight bleeding which is insignificant when doing bold prints but not for fine prints.
I learned some tips and tricks on registration from my instructor but still i have a long way to go on that, especially when doing multi-colored prints. I think i can comfortably attempt mono-color repeats, though a multi-color one will take up lot of planning for me.
I think it also depends on the tools you use. Professional printers can’t fuss with registration everytime… do they??? We use very basic tools in the class which keep our confidence levels high for kitchen printing.

PRINT - Sailing Blues
This one is also printed on a sheet of white cotton; but a lady at my class was asking for the pattern so that she can print it on a t-shirt for her nephew. The Blue color is not stright out of jar, but premixed by somebody else and i was just using.

I can turn them into placemats or a pillow cover.. How about a baby bib??? ; but with no sewing machine here they have to wait.
PRINT - Yatch pillow

PRINT - Yatch Placemat

PRINT - Bfast at sea
(Its like having breakfast by the sea everyday…)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Trudey permalink
    March 12, 2009 3:56 pm

    Hi,

    Glad to see you doing this. It’s always good to learn new crafts. The word is spelt ‘yacht’ and the plural is yachts. There are a few other nouns that end in ‘-cht’ and they are all borrowed from another language (originally a Germanic word).

    I have ‘lost’ your email address on my old computer which decided to die just days after I bought a new one. I have all the stuff stored on an external hard-drive now (used a Linux Knoppix live disk to copy everything to the external hard-drive) but have not worked out how to find my old Outlook .pst file or how to transfer it to my new computer and make it work in Outlook.

    Trudey

  2. iaminchennai permalink
    March 13, 2009 5:03 am

    Corrected it Trudey..
    Dont worry, I will mail you.

  3. gomse permalink
    March 19, 2009 6:20 am

    hey, this is interesting! I’m off to try one!

Leave a Reply

