Skip to content

PRINT: Indigo Leaves

February 25, 2009
INDIGO LEAVES

PRINT - IL Closeup

History
This is what i did in my second class. I never saw Indigo plant myself but i choosed the name for the color.
If you are wondering about the “Class” part; I am attending some classes on fabric printing. So for the next few weeks you can see a bit of my experiments here ;-). Don’t think i am keeping my yarn and needles away.. i have a cute(I think it is…) project to share soon.
Supplies: Too many things to list…
Notes:
After the introductory first class, we had to prepare a design for our second class which we can print and this is mine. The design is adapted from a Japaneese kimono. I mixed the color myself as i wanted a more ink blue than deep blue; you can see the color testing on the white fabric. I love the whole process but i hate cleaning up:-)
PRINT - IL Design

I printed it on a Calico bag which now follows me everywhere from library to market to knitting group.
PRINT - Calico Bag

I must say that i got a back pain preparing this design. I already wear glasses else i would have got those also 🙂 But its worth all the effort, is’nt it??? I was literally jumping all over the place when i saw my first print. It is so much different to crochet and knitting where we can see the object evolve slowly in our hands…. Printing is more a “Zap” and its done… lot of time is spent on planning….process….and ofcourse after-cleaning. But when a mistake is done… you are back on the drawing board unlike a rip and knit.

Anyway next week print will be a far more simple but colorful because we will be attempting multicolor prints.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. gomse permalink
    February 25, 2009 5:47 am

    wow!really pretty!

  2. srividya Ganapathy permalink
    February 25, 2009 11:56 am

    Wow. It is lovely. I love fabric painting. Painted on saris and full skirts during college. Now with the kids I am yet to take the brush. Like u said cleaning up is what puts me off.:) Should pick it up soon.

  3. Pearlin permalink
    February 25, 2009 12:02 pm

    wow so lovely!

  4. February 25, 2009 8:10 pm

    sooo pretty!

  5. ramblingroses permalink
    February 26, 2009 3:24 pm

    I agree that I would find it hard to put this bag down too – it’s so lovely:)

  6. March 1, 2009 1:28 am

    It’s awesome!!

  7. March 1, 2009 8:20 pm

    Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  8. March 3, 2009 4:55 pm

    The subject composition is brilliant.The mono colour presentation is wow; very classy!

  9. March 5, 2009 1:34 pm

    Gorgeous! You are very talented, y’know!

Leave a Reply

