Skip to content

FO: PinWheel Doily

February 18, 2009
PINWHEEL DOILY

FO - pinwheel doily2
HistoryI almost forgot about this. A Lady at the knitting group i attend in Chatswood asked me if i can make her a jug cover, as i am not sure (i would have understood if she had explained to me) she got me a sample. As i had the option to choose the pattern… i choosed the pinwheel doily
Crocheted Jug Cover
Yarn: Pellicano by Coats (Given to me by the lady)
Hook: 2.25mm
Others: Beads from my stash
Gauge: mmmm…..
Size: 11”
Pattern: PinWheel Doily; it is a very popular one but now i couldnt find the link…Its there on Rav.
Notes:
i didnt string the beads before i started the doily so i had to break the yarn before 2 rows to finish and string the beads. The pattern actually says at a point to break the yarn and rejoin it at another point but i slip stitched it.
I didnt it starch it but wet blocked it.
Crocheted pinwheel doily1

Here is a funny incident(i thought it was funny :-)) that happened when i am crocheting it that i wanted to share. DH was on phone with his mates and i thought i would crochet in the balcony…and suddenly the ball of yarn rolled out of the lap and through the gap in the railings fell 5 storeys down onto the driveway that leads to the basement parking. I am there with WIP doily and the ball of yarn down on the driveway. I threw the doily down thinking that i will pickup both the yarn and the doily from the driveway, my bad luck the thread tangled with the potted plants in the apartment below us and my doily is there hanging in the air. I knocked the door of the apartment for 30 mins before an old lady opened it (i felt very guilty that i had to wake her from her afternoon nap) but by that time a gust of wind untangled the thread and my doily was on the driveway and was rescued by a neighbour. Luckly no car smashed it and it didnt unravel much.

If i make it again;
Probably i will make in a thinner thread… never crocheted with threads 🙂

Learnt: Nothing new…
Time:
Nearly 2 weeks

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2009 12:16 pm

    Hi,

    I am Flora. I came through your web site when I was googling for knitting and embroidery classes in Chennai.

    Your doily is awesome. Did you learn crochet on your own or through any class? Lovely work.

    By the way, this is my blog: http://www.florascolors.blogspot.com. I know embroidery and conduct embroidery classes in the weekends. I developed a liking for crochet and knitting recently. And after seeing your work my interest shot up. 🙂

  2. srividya Ganapathy permalink
    February 19, 2009 7:24 pm

    I too love pinwheel doilies. Looks nice with the beads. Good incident too. Now that people know u crochet if they find anything on the drive they won’t throw it away, they know where to knock 😉

  3. February 20, 2009 1:34 am

    Your doily is beautiful! I am glad it is doing well, safe and sound 😉

  4. ramblingroses permalink
    February 26, 2009 3:23 pm

    That was an amazing incident and thankfully you got your doily back! Your crochet work is lovely and I like the way you’ve added beads to give it stability to drape over the jug – nifty trick:)

Leave a Reply

