Skip to content

SPIN: Grand Canyon

January 26, 2009
GRAND CANYON

SPIN - Grand Canyon1
History
You already have seen me taking up spinning so after some small starts and decent lengths of yarn, i want my own decent length of handspun. so i started on it and finished thats it.
I named it “Grand Canyon” as it reminds me of the pictures i have seen of the huge rocky valleys and terrains cut by what seems to be a meek river.
Fibre: 100% Merino Fibre by Bilby Yarns in Carnival colorway (Given to me by Mel).
WPI: 12 WPI; Sport/Light DK/5 ply.
Length: 82 mts
Weight:
Notes:
My initial spin is a bit thick because i couldn’t draft the fibre as fast as the spindle is spinning. That is when i saw a vedio over the youtube where the lady pre-drafted the fibre before she spun it on her spindle.
So i tried it and it gave me a more fine yarn. I think i will pre-draft the fibre as it works for me.

I spun a lot of fibre before i realised that i have to make another single so that i can ply them. So when i plied the two singles, i had a lot of single yarn that is left that is when i tried Navajo plying. I have to say that i have been sucessfull.

Intially i wound my singles on TP rolls and when its time to ply them… I used some bowls from the kitchen… stuck them on the TV antenna ariels…tried all. Think its time to get a shoe box đŸ™‚

I followed the chart on Wiki to determine the yarnweight. There are so many charts over the net and each has its own numbers, so you can say i am a bit confused at this point of time. If any one has a good wpi chart i would love to have a copy.
SPIN - Grand Canyon

Learnt:
its my first serious spin… so i can say i learnt everything.

Time:
A week i think.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2009 2:39 pm

    It looks awesome!! Congrats on your new hobby!!

  2. ramblinggeese permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:17 pm

    Definitely Grand Canyon colours. Great job on the spinning!!!

  3. January 27, 2009 9:44 pm

    Still rockin’ the spinning world!!!!

Leave a Reply

