Skip to content

FO – Buttons n Threads Photo Frame

January 20, 2009
BUTTONS ‘N THREADS PHOTO FRAME

FO - Photo frame1

History
I visit some of the op shops around where i live once in a while or when i am near them and have some coins to spend. I mainly look for yarn or books. I dont know much about vintage stuff, not much into jewellery and anything that adds to luggage that we already have… I dont buy it šŸ™‚ ok stash and books do not count šŸ˜€

I found an almost full ball of grey acrylic yarn without a ball band for 50c. Its nothing interesting but i wanted some thing… so it followed me home. Then after a few days, i got the book “Knit 2 Together” from the library. Its a lovely book and i will talk about it later. Since my WIP’s are going slowly i jumped up when i saw this small and cute project.

Yarn: Yarn unknown acrylic in around sport weight – 8ply in Australia.
Needles: 6mm Circulars
Others: Butons, leftover yarns to brighten up, Glue, Plexi Photoframe ( I didnt have one, so i made my own… A bit crude but works)
FO - Photo Frame3

Gauge: A bit off… but almost as the pattern specifies
Size: 5 X 7
Pattern: “Tahiti-Style Photo Frames” by Mel Clark in “Knit 2 Together” Book.
Notes:
The pattern is a very simple… and since i only have to knit all the time.. it flew off the needles. I think i got a larger FO as i didnt follow the gauge but thats not a prob for me as it fits my frame. Since the whole thing was too grey, i brightened it up a bit with some colorful bits of yarn some buttons.
DH loved it when he saw it…

Another reason to start the project is a shop-a-docket that gives you a 10c print and i wanted to frame a pictures of ours taken in Katoomba. But by the time i finished the whole thing, i couldnt find the docket and my laptop crashed along with the pictures. So it is now carrying a post card of sydney

FO - Photo Frame2

There aren’t many “Photo Frame” patterns on Rav, but they make a quick gift that will stay on. Make in some baby colors and attach a small amigurumi for a new baby photo. Make in Christmas colors, you can include a family photo when giving to someone in the family. Make in your own handspun yarn. Make with all those leftovers. The posibilities are endless…

If i make it again;
I will use a more interesting yarn (i already have something interesting going on in my mind…)

Learnt:
To take regular backups of the photos an other important data šŸ™‚

Time:
A Day.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2009 5:33 am

    I love it! The coolest idea…

  2. January 20, 2009 5:46 am

    cool idea. love you improv too.

  3. January 20, 2009 10:41 am

    neat idea šŸ™‚

  4. ramblingroses permalink
    January 20, 2009 4:08 pm

    Great gifting idea and works up so quick too! Yours is really nice, I like the way you embellished it with yarn and buttons. Snazzy!

  5. Daisy Taft permalink
    January 26, 2009 6:20 am

    I love your frame.
    Daisy

  6. Shalini permalink
    February 18, 2009 11:34 am

    wow… the frame is too cool… how did u make it?its lovely…

Leave a Reply

