Skip to content

I took up Spinning

January 15, 2009

A New Year and i took up a new craft, Spinning. Though i didn’t really chart out my resolutions this year (i never do..) learning how to spin is there on my mind for sometime. What is a more perfect time to learn a new craft when you are unemployed.. 🙂 You really can’t complain “I just didn’t have the time”.

I did a bit research on the net as the local library didn’t have books on spinning using a spindle. I should admit there are 3-4 books on spinning using a wheel. Learning to spin on a “Drop Spindle” seems to be a good option as i don’t have the money to invest in a wheel and i definitely can’t take it back when its time for flying home.

Couple of vedios on Youtube gave me the confidence, but first i need a spindle and some fibre to start on. I kept it on a wishlist in Rav but i thought why not build my own spindle (A CD spindle). I went to Bunnings, a housing material warehouse chain and got a dowel and some screw hooks. I couldnt find any rubber gormets so my spindle had to wait.
Stuff i found to make a spindle.
Spin - My Hardware

Meanwhile Mel, a friend in Sydney messaged me saying that she has a spindle and some fibre for me. Yay!!! 😀 She is so generous.
So on Monday i collected the Spindle, which is made by her, some fibre and also took some spinning lessons from her. I ran straight to home and spun some yarn and plied it. My first handspun, a mere 6 mts resemble a bit like sari silk in strong primary colors.

My goodies
Spin - My Goodies

Spun singles wound around my phone.
Spin - My 1st spin

The 6meters of my first plied yarn
Spin - My 6m skien

I have been spinning every morning from then on… my aim right now is to spin yarn with consistant thickness… which when plied will be around sport weight. My problem as of now is over twisting, i am so afraid that the fibres will come apart that i am twisting them too much; i feel if i am wringing their neck 😀

I absolutely love this fibre and its colors
Spin - Crimson Fibre

Spun and would on a cardboard roll
Spin - Crimson Yarn

The yarn with other fibre (there is a 20c Aussie coin – roughly the size of a Indian rupee coin)
Spin - Colorful  Yarn

Virginia and Petlins are the fibre stores within the sydney limits which also have a physical store. There are a lot of online stores but right now i like to feel the fibre before i buy to understand it. Since going to Virginia means changing 3 buses and a 2 hr journey 1 way; i am sticking to Petlins now.

Its Jeni who inspired me into spinning when she RAKd me her handspun.
Then DH dragged me down to Aus and opened the gates.
Mel completed the whole thing when she gave me the goodies.
So a big “Thank you” to all of you.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2009 6:09 pm

    Congratulations! The yarn looks beautiful. What a way to being the New Year!

  2. January 15, 2009 8:33 pm

    Beautiful.. now i know who to hit on for info on starting spinning!

  3. January 15, 2009 10:35 pm

    wow! that is so impressive!

    • iaminchennai permalink
      January 16, 2009 2:51 am

      Thank you for all the encouragement ladies 😀 it kinda became an addiction…. Now i have to split my time between Crochet, Knitting and Spinning…

  4. January 16, 2009 3:46 am

    Very glad to have been part of the inspiration to get you spinning. Your yarn looks beautiful – have fun!

  5. January 16, 2009 5:25 am

    Wow R, you are rockin’ the spinning world, baybee! One day I will have some time at work to have that coffee with you!

  6. ramblingroses permalink
    January 17, 2009 1:01 pm

    Wow you’re a spinner now! The yarn is looking lovely:)

  7. Srividya permalink
    January 21, 2009 9:09 pm

    Congrats on ur new hobby. U seem to be having fun. The colors are gorgeous too.

Leave a Reply

