Skip to content

Day 27 – Time for Baking

December 14, 2008

Nov 10, 2008 – Monday

We have a electric oven in the kitchen but it is not until a week back that i figured how to switch it on. Even i was not sure of how to operate the oven as the one we had back in chennai is a mix of micro+grill+convection. I watched my MIL bake cake a few times back in Chennai but i never did it on my own.

I got this cake tin in vinnies-chatswood for 3$ and also some baking powder and baking soda when returning from the knitting group last week.
I though of banana bread first but realised that the last banana in the house was already consumed and started searching over the net for some simple recepie for a plain cake.

As is my knitting.. so is my baking. I dont check the gauge and i dont measure the stuff. I dont follow the pattern to the point and same is with the recepie.
I made with only 1 cup of flour and i mixed both plain flour and whole wheat flour. But finally mixed in some butter, egg, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and water in a bowl.

I poured the batter into the floured cake pan and kept it into a pre heated oven at 150c for 30 mins…. too nervous…. i just didnt want it to turn into a biscuit like thing. I switched off the oven when the cake passed the fork test, but i felt later that it must have been for another 10 mins for a brown crust on top.
Hubster was a bit surprised and had some two slices… i emptied the rest…

From the Lens

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

