Skip to content

I am in Sydney

October 16, 2008
tags:

Spectacular night view through the low clouds and a perfect landing despite the wind welcomed me into Sydney.

I landed at 8:30pm local time on the night of 14th, after starting in Chennai on 13th night, losing almost all the day and my entire sleep. I had a brief stopover at Singapore, just enough to change the terminals, find the gate and fresh up a bit. Needless to say, the flight is a bit cramped as the plane is shared by 4 airlines. The passegers of S’pore Airlines, Lufthansa, Air India, Virgin Atlantic travelling to Sydney share the same flight, probably cutting costs.

I made it through the Quarantine despite carrying Rasam and Sambhar powders. The lady saw all my packets and my passport and left me and my packets with a warning not to get them next time. She told me that they will allow commercially packed powders but not homemade.

My husband got a Unit(Apartment) in St. Leonards. Its a 2 min walk away from the train station. Just got my own set of keys, so its time to explore.

I know i have not been blogging lately as i was occupied with shopping, packing and visiting relatives and friends before my travel, now that i have time i will post all that went on.

View from the balcony:
View from Balcony1

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Trudey permalink
    October 16, 2008 12:02 pm

    Welcome to Australia. You are living in a lovely part of Sydney and you must be close to the shops at St Leonards too. Chatswood, 2 stops to the north on the train line has a very big shopping centre.

    Many people are willing to be helpful so don’t be afraid to ask directions etc, but if you have a computer at home try http://classic.whereis.com/whereis/home.do and you can print out maps of near you and wherever you intend to go when you start to move further afield – much better than lugging a stret directory around; they are quite large and heavy.

    Enjoy your new experience.

    Trudey

  2. October 16, 2008 9:12 pm

    welcome to Sydney! Have fun exploring.

  3. Radha Renganathan permalink
    October 17, 2008 10:37 am

    Ok. so now you have to start ‘Exploring craft in Sydney’. Have a great time.

  4. October 17, 2008 6:10 pm

    Yayyy! You are in Sydney. Waiting to read about everything is going on…

  5. October 18, 2008 9:15 am

    Looks like a beautiful view and it will be very nice for you to be able to get around with the train and such! I am envious!!

  6. ramblingroses permalink
    October 18, 2008 9:40 am

    You’re in Sydney, yaay!! Now, we can get a “look” at Sydney through your blog:):) Have fun exploring!

  7. iaminchennai permalink
    October 18, 2008 5:50 pm

    Guys i have started another blog to list all my sydney stuff though my crafty and other important things will also be written on my main blog. The new blog is in my Blogroll

  8. malligashivaram permalink
    October 21, 2008 9:37 pm

    i look foward to your blogging you are interesting and crafty try to add free patterns for junior crafters. let us now of your life in sydney thanking you malligashivaram from chennai

Leave a Reply

