Skip to content

NEWS to Break

September 15, 2008

I am going to Australia
…. Sydney to be exact. Tickets are booked and i will be flying around mid-October. I am so excited, among all other things I will get to visit my first LYS.
(yay… dancing around the room, Now i am back at my desk..)
I will be Jobless soon. I am planning to spend the time after work and before flight with my parents and in-laws, also pack my stuff for the next two years. I have lots of things to take care and so little time, most important is my stash. I felt that there is no point in taking all my yarn, but i am planning to take all my needles and hooks along with other goodies including my bead collection and jewellery making stuff. I will have some free time before i start working there and yarn and beads will keep me occupied.

I have 2 main concerns… any suggestions????
How do i store the yarn i have to leave here for two years, as of now everything is in zippered bags. Is occasional airing needed?? (I will be leaving wool yarn here).
I have seen on the internet that knitting needles don’t make it through the security check, are plastic hooks allowed? Did anyone travel from Chennai on any international flight with hooks/needles in hand luggage?

Before i dream about my new temporary home,I have some shopping to do here. Decide on what to take and what not to.
I always have travel jitters when packing for a long stay, even after 4 moves (I was in Pune, Mumbai, Bangalore before i kind of settled in Chennai after getting married). I always feel that i forgot something or other, of course i have this feeling daily when i start for office 🙂

Now i have thoughts… should i have named my blog “iaminchennai”. I kind of thought i will get stuck to Chennai after marriage and will not move anywhere… How wrong i am!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anyway for the next two years you will see more of Australian stuff than Chennai on this blog. Since i will also be using my blog to log my time in Australia you will see lot more beside my crafty stuff.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2008 6:55 pm

    Have fun in Sydney!
    I have taken tiny knitting needles from Mumbai and did not have any problems.

  2. September 15, 2008 7:57 pm

    I wish you All the Best with your travels. I know for sure that one is allowed to carry plastic circulars and crochet hooks on the flights.

  3. September 15, 2008 9:41 pm

    So great! Best of luck 🙂 PS: I will reply to your Ravelry email today. Glad that the stuff reached you!

    About the knitting needles. I have travelled with knitting needles and crochet hooks (both metallic) on international flights and have had no problem.

  4. iaminchennai permalink
    September 16, 2008 2:48 am

    Hey Girls… Thanks for the Wishes…
    I dont want to take chance with my needles and will carry plastic hooks and projects to keep myself busy on the plane (I cant bear parting with my needles 😦 )

  5. September 16, 2008 2:58 am

    Congratulations on the move – I’ve had different experiences on different airlines when it comes to knitting needles but always have been allowed plastic crochet hooks.

    Good luck with the packing 🙂

  6. iaminchennai permalink
    September 16, 2008 10:10 am

    Thank you Jeni for the wishes…. I am sticking with the Plastic Hook.

  7. September 16, 2008 12:36 pm

    Good Luck girl! Just keep knitting and stay connected. God Bless!

    Deepa Sekar

  8. ramblingroses permalink
    September 16, 2008 4:53 pm

    Happy trails, Radhika!! Great news to hear that you will be Down Under for the next couple years:) I have not had any problems with taking my needles each time I’ve flown – but maybe because they were circular needles. You could always check with the airline.

  9. Yasmin permalink
    September 17, 2008 1:33 am

    Great news! Sydney is supposed to be beautiful. I had once had to give up my crochet hook at the airport ( very upsetting) Now I do tatting in flights. They don’t undestand tatting shuttles and most think it’s jewellery of some sort ..lol!
    Anyways, you have a safe trip and enjoy your stay in Australia. Looking forward to hearing from you about life out there. Keep in touch.

  10. iaminchennai permalink
    September 17, 2008 10:47 pm

    Thank you for your wishes girls… Will always be in loop through Ravelry and my Blog..

Leave a Reply

