Skip to content

Chennai Weekend: Home Alone

September 6, 2008

I was dying to blog about this but my past two weeks were literally consumed by my work at office and after that my computer refused to detect my camera.

3 weeks back when my Husband and In-laws are out of the town, I had sometime to kill before my parents dropped in to keep me company.
I thought about doing some knitting but when i went through my stash i found the Carpet wool and Kool-Aid i received some time back as RAK from Elizabeth. I immediately got down to dyeing. I went quickly through some sites to refresh the instructions that are already there in my head.

FRIDAY EVENING
I prepared the table with news papers and plastic sheet. Unwound the Yarn, tied it so as not to tangle it, dipped in the tepid water and off to make some Dinner.
KoolAid Dye1 - Prep KoolAid Dye1 - Soak KoolAid Dye1 - table

I mixed the colors, “Tropic” , “Strawberry”, “Cherry” visualising the yarn with different shades in the red family, but i got an entirely red yarn 😦 But OK the skien after nuking and drying looked great.
KoolAid Dye1 - Colors KoolAid Dye1 - prep1 KoolAid Dye1 - red3 KoolAid Dye1 -  red1

SATURDAY MORNING
I tried some more dyeing as i am expecting my parents only in the evening.
This time i took two different colors “Blue Berry” and “Cherry Red” and Dyed the Yarn. The dye was barely sufficient for the yarn i took so the outcome is a bit pale. But, I finally got two colors on one skien.
KoolAid Dye2 - redblue1 KoolAid Dye2 - redblue dry1

I nuked for around 15 minutes in total per skien, checking every 5 minutes. I stopped nuking once the extra dye in the dish turned colorless. I washed the skiens after they are cooled and the color didn’t bleed.

I am left with some more yarn and i am visualising it in multicolored stripes as i have Kool-Aid left in different colors

Will a Bag be a Good Idea for the yarn? I know a RED Bag will be LOUD, but thats the fun. Any good feltable Bag patterns that you know??

P.S: Shhh.. I hope my DH is not reading all this πŸ™‚ what all mess she is creating when i am not in town???

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2008 3:23 pm

    wow how cool is that !! Yes I like the bag idea too.

  2. ramblingroses permalink
    September 7, 2008 4:40 pm

    The colors look nice together, great job on the dyeing:)

  3. September 7, 2008 6:09 pm

    Awesome!! I have been wanting to try koolaid for some time. so far tried only with food coloring.

  4. iaminchennai permalink
    September 7, 2008 8:12 pm

    i think its the same with both Kool-Aid and food coloring; the only adv with Kool-Aid is that you dont have to think about vinegar as it has citric acid.

  5. iaminchennai permalink
    September 7, 2008 8:20 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement, I have one more skien to dye… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

