Skip to content

FO – Petal Doily

August 2, 2008

I decided to crochet on weekdays and knit on weekends. Its purely a matter of convinience than anything else. Its very difficult for me to me to keep track of knitting when watching TV/Movie or while making dinner, crochet i think is far more convinient in that matter. Also no need to worry about slipped stitches 🙂

PETAL DOILY
WIP - Petal Doily2 WIP - Petal Doily1
History:
So as part of my weekday crochet, here is my petal doily. I dont remember from where i downloaded the pattern as it was there in my laptop from a long long time. I started the doily coz i have the yarn/thread which i picked when i went on a bead hunt in T.Nagar.

Yarn: Red Rose knitting cotton in Green & Silver.
Rose Knitting Cotton
Hook: 3mm Pony Metal
Gauge: When did i follow the gauge???? 🙂
Size: Its now 12″
Pattern: No Idea.. Do let me know if you know it.
Notes:
There are still 6 more rounds to go but the thread is not enough so i stopped it. I dont know if i will finish the other rounds so i am calling it finished.
My MIL is asking me to do the other rounds in a contrasting color, so lets see. FYI the doily is already being used as a telephone mat.
The Thread is not soft like Anchor knitting cotton its very hard, The doily is very stiff as if it has been starched 🙂
If i make it again;
I will use Anchor knitting cotton

Learnt: Patience 🙂
Time: Took 2 days for me, The complete doily can be finished of in a day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Yasmin permalink
    August 4, 2008 2:41 pm

    Nice doily . Sorry can’t help you about info on the pattern. But it does look familiar. I’ve used this thread and it’s not really doily type unless you want to skip the starching and blocking and prefer a stiff look. But I liked it to make snowflakes ,sun-catchers and trims on place mats.

  2. August 4, 2008 7:55 pm

    This looks beautiful !

  3. iaminchennai permalink
    August 4, 2008 9:47 pm

    Hi thanks for the ideas and compliments 🙂 I think snowflakes is a good idea, next time i will pick up white thread to make some.

Leave a Reply

