Skip to content

Chennai Weekend – Summer HeadBand

July 20, 2008

My last post said that i received some cotton yarn, and i started my first project with that.
So what am i waiting for….

SUMMER HEADBAND
History
I named it “Summer Headband” as the colorway of the yarn used is “Summer Splash”. When i received my first cotton yarn, i wanted a small project to try the yarn and its feel and a headband seemed to be the perfect fit.

Yarn: Lily Sugar’n cream Ombres in “Summer Splash”
Needles: 5mm (4mm DP for Icord)
Size made: 20 inches including ties

Pattern: Arrowhead lace Headband by Persnickety Knitter

Notes: The original pattern doesn’t has Icord ties but says to stitch the two ends.
FO - Arrow Headband1
I used plastic needles to knit, i think the metal ones are preferable when working with cotton.
Yet to block it, blocking might actually open the lacy pattern.
FO - Arrow HeadBand

If i make it again
I will make it 2 inches less in length, the lace pattern is very strechy.
Use a solid colored yarn, as the changing colors dominate the pattern.

Learnt: Making I-cords using double pointed needles

Time: May be done in a day. I streached it over 5 days, knitting only few rows per day.

I am not much into wearing headbands (expect once in a while), so i may not use it and the colors are a bit too bright for me to wear. I have seen another pattern for headband, i am planning to make it in mute colored sportweight acrylic yarn which i may use.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

