Skip to content

What happened on my B'day

May 27, 2008
There is nothing much to say….
This year it came tad in the middle of the week.
The tailor already spoiled my day by not delivering my new suit and pushed the blame on the electricity dept.
I planned my day off long before with no real plans. My DH took off coz i took off and we both got bored quickly at home. He started bugging me that we should catch a flick, but none that are currently playing in town interested me.The day was too hot to step out and didnt dare to ( Not even to pick my clothes at the tailor). Finally we planned for a visit to the Ashtalakshmi Temple in Besant Nagar in the evening and a quite Dinner.
We started around 5 in the evening to the temple and it took around an hour to reach there. The Temple is right on the beach and the day being a weekday, there isnt much crowd. Here are some pics.
sea from Ashtalakshmi templeView from Ashtalakshmi temple ashtalakshmi temple from beachBesant Nagar Beach
After spending sometime in the beach, my DH asked if i want to have a nice dinner at a cozy place or head out for some junk. I choosed “Junk” šŸ™‚ We headed for Ascendas, Where chennai only Mac-D (Mc Donalds) is present.
On our way, we stopped at a craft shop in Adyar (RS Fancy Stores) to check if they have some 5mm/5.5mm crochet hooks and also some bamboo handles coz thats the only shop where i found a lot of cane baskets( used for making flower arrangements) hanging outside.
All the crochet needles he has are of size below 1mm, steel hooks of the brand “Tulip” (Do you use sewing thread to crochet with them??? I will loose my eye sight even if i think of working with them :-)) They had some cane handles but not the bucket handle type i was looking for but the small “D” handles. Sorry no photos, my DH will kill me if i run around the streets with my camera šŸ™‚
Ascendas is a IT park and the food court is open to the public. There are “Quicky’s coffee”, “Noodle House”, “San’s Kitchen”, “Pathankot”, “Mc Donalds”, “KFC”, “Movenpick” and some other counters. So I am actually spoilt for choice there, but i stuck to Mac-D. Its been a long time since i had burger from Mac-D and i love their potato wedges( Last time i visited Mac-D was when i was working in B’lore before my Marriage).

Once i reached home, there is a surprise waiting for me.My MIL told me that i got a parcel and guessed it right away from whom it was. Its from swapna and she sent me some knitting/crochet stuff from her stash. They landed on my b’day, so they became a b’day gift šŸ™‚
I got 6 pairs of knitting needles (2 pairs are of ‘susan bates’)
3 crochet hooks, 2 of them are made of plastic and this is the first time i am seeing them in real. Can you belive, the red one is a 5mm hook, The one i looked for in the shop on my way back.. co-incidence!!!!
and i felt there is still something in the cover, after probing a bit, found a pair of row counters (geeeek, this is my first pair and i didnt leave them for the next 1 hour.)
Here is a peek of what she has sent me.
Gift from SwapnaBoye row counters

I started right away with my new needles, a mini purse for a swap i am in, at Ravelry
Thats it for the day.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2008 3:06 am

    I am glad your day turned out well in the end. Happy Birthday!

  2. May 28, 2008 7:29 am

    Great pictures of the temple! The beach looks so beautiful. I’m glad you had a good day!

  3. Yasmin permalink
    May 29, 2008 2:46 pm

    Wishing you a very Happy Belated Birthday. Good thing the day ended with Swapnae’s wonderful gift- and just what you wanted, how great is that????

  4. iaminchennai permalink
    June 1, 2008 9:32 pm

    hey Girls….. Thanks for the wishes šŸ™‚

  5. BeadsRmyFavrteThings permalink
    June 2, 2008 12:14 pm

    Hey!!! A very happy birthday to you! I hope you have a great year ahead and lots of fun with all your craft endeavors. I have a lil gift for you and wanted to meet you in person to give it to you. Had no idea it was your birthday though, what a coincidence! And while on that…I just had a birthday on the 14th too! šŸ˜›

    Please let me know when you are free and we can meet up briefly.

    PS I liked your mom’s sari gift and am happy that you found crochet needles for thick yarn…Im still looking! But since Im not that good at this crochet stuff…am happier sticking to what i know- beading and silk painting.

  6. June 12, 2008 6:23 pm

    Hi – Namaste,

    I found your blog during surfing in ravelry … I only tipped INDIA … you wondered why India ??

    OK my mother in law is living in India – Andra Pradesh … Hyderabad and Kurnool … so I was the fith Time in India this year.

    Your pictures from the temple are so beautiful … We always stay as “Sri Bala Sai Baba” in his Ashram …

    I love singing Bhajans …

    “Jaya guru om kara … “is one of my favorite Bhajan …

    or

    “Jaya jagadisha harey … ”

    Namaste Bianca

Leave a Reply

