Skip to content

See What my Mom got for me…….

May 12, 2008

Mom and Dad gave me a surprise visit last week. They had to attend a small event in chennai so they came down to see me after that.Mom got me the saree she was embroidering for me for the past 1.5 years πŸ™‚ ( She finally completed it She wanted to give it on my first wedding aniversary (last year), but made it before my b’day this year :-). I love the pallu especially… Its looks tooo good. Hope I can get the blouse stitched before my b’day πŸ™‚
Here are some pics.
I couldnt get the exact color in the pictures, tried a lot of settings
Its a simple kantha work done in silk thread. But the beads add a lot of dimension.

misc 074 misc 079 misc 076
She also got me a big transparent box and small transparent containers to organise my beads and other embroidery stuff. The small containers are dead cheap @ 3 Rs/piece. I will look for similar boxes to organise my other stuff also, else i will ask my mom to get me some. Needless to say, already filled up the boxes
misc 080

Finally i signed up for a swap on Ravelry, a mini purse swap….. looking forward to know my partnerΒ 

Β 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2008 11:44 am

    WOW that embrodery is sooooo pretty.You lucky girl :)!

  2. May 13, 2008 1:15 pm

    the saree is beautiful – what a clever mother you have πŸ™‚

  3. May 14, 2008 9:55 pm

    That is a lot of fine work! I envy your mom’s skills. You are one lucky girl.

  4. iaminchennai permalink
    May 15, 2008 10:43 am

    Hello ladies…
    Thanks for all the comments..
    Mom used to do a lot of embroidery for me when i was a kid, and this project she took up after a long time.

    Stitching the beads is the difficult part.
    Finally she completed it before i grew impatient πŸ™‚

    Purlycues
    The dishcloth is nice

    Magnusmog
    The cat and yarn pictures are nice… wherever i have seen knitting is always associated with cat πŸ™‚

    Rima
    I saw your cross-stitch work on your blog.. too good

  5. May 15, 2008 2:14 pm

    How thoughtful of your mom and what a gorgeous saree. The embroidery that your mom has done is exquisite!

  6. iaminchennai permalink
    May 16, 2008 11:09 am

    Thanks preeti

    – I passed on all the comments on the saree to my mom. She wants to say to all of you a big thank you for all your wonderful comments

  7. Yasmin permalink
    May 20, 2008 1:07 am

    Beautiful work. Your Mom is so talented and you are lucky ! I use those type of boxes to store my supplies and it works great. Esp since they are transparent , it saves a lot of time. Very thoughtful of your Mom.

  8. June 19, 2008 11:39 am

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation πŸ™‚ Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Substantively.

Leave a Reply

