Skip to content

Chennai Weekend – Whats going on??

March 31, 2008

Nothing crafty goining on in the past few days as office is eating up my leisure time 😦
So this time I decided to blog about the things i made, that are in progress and a part of my stash.

giraffeeduck ling
“The girafee” is my favorite though “The Duck” gave me the confidence. I was so proud when i completed the girafee that i showed it to my collegues in office also.
Yarn Used: Local wrosted weight yarn.
Yarn amount: Half Ball – yellow (both the things combined)
Hook Used: 3.5mm
Remarks: These two amigurumi things i completed in 2 days. I caught the time between the housework and those precious moments before bedtime to complete these. They are quick to make and the assembling does take time 🙂

I forgot from where i picked up “The giraffee” pattern. “The Duck” was from a baby book.

fillet runner
This simple fillet was my first crochet attempt after school.
Yarn Used: Coats Knitting cotton.
Yarn Amount: 1   Ball – Pink
                    0.5 Ball – Cream
Hook Used: 2.5mm
Remarks: Never mind the combination of color   🙂

fillet table cloth
The fillet Table cloth was my second attempt.
Yarn Used: Coats Knitting cotton.
Yarn Amount: 2.5 Balls – Cream
Hook Used: 2.5mm
Remarks: The pattern was picked from internet. I am planning to add a border in contrast color.

sweater
The baby sweater was my first knitting attempt of a garment.
Yarn Used: Local Wrosted weight acrylic yarn
Yarn Amount: 6 Balls – 25 gms each – Grey.
Needles Used: Pony Brand – 6
Remarks: The pattern is on “Lion’s Brand” website called “Baby Kimono”. I did the math to suit my yarn and needles. Still some more knitting and I will be finished with my first sweater.

yarn2
This yarn i bought long time back, but still didnt decide what to do.
I have a knit/crochet bag/tote in my mind, but i need a really inspiring pattern to start off 🙂
Yarn: Wrosted weight – unknown material – soft feel
Remarks: 1kg costs 250Rs.

In the comings days
1. I want to finish the sweater.
2. Start looking for a pattern for a tote.
3. Finish giving a border to the table cloth

before i start on a new project… ( but i know i will start of another before i can even think of :-))

Does anybody know where i can get leather in chennai? I am not talking about the finished peices but leather sold as per size.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2008 9:58 pm

    Can’t help you with the leather, but your FOs are beautiful! That kimono pattern is too cute. I think I might try the pattern out eventually, also. I haven’t worked up to wearables, yet. Love the rubber ducky! I think there’s a free pattern for one of those on Crochetvill, also.

  2. iaminchennai permalink
    April 1, 2008 1:37 pm

    Hi
    Thanks for the compliments.
    And do try the duck…. its takes just 2 hours to complete 🙂

  3. Anitha permalink
    April 11, 2008 1:08 pm

    hi,
    where do you buy these yarn and hooks in chennai.i’m just now getting addicted to crochets if you have any patterns and the address please advice me on that

  4. iaminchennai permalink
    April 12, 2008 10:30 pm

    Hi Anitha,
    You can check one of my previous post “Craft Supplies shops in chennai” for buying yarn and hooks in chennai. And for patterns…. there are innumerable on the net…. thats where even i go 🙂

  5. September 2, 2008 9:56 am

    Wow..the giraffe and duck look so lovely..wish u had the pattern …and ya, thanks for linking me up

Leave a Reply

