Skip to content

Chennai Weekend – Ear Drops 2

March 14, 2008

i think am getting addicted to this…..making ear drops ๐Ÿ™‚
Here is the second pair that i made…
It all started a week back on saturday afternoon… when i was looking at a pack of ceramic powder that i bought long time back. I started playing with the ideas that were revolving in my head and the resultant is the pair below.
Ear drops 2
I just gave out a brief of what i did and the pictures belowย say it all… ๐Ÿ™‚

1. I mixed ceramic powder with fevicol(white glue) to a dough.
2. shaped them as i want. Used a piece of wire to put in holes.
3. Left them to dry for a day.
4. Once they are hard, smoothed out the rough edges with a nail file.
5. I actually used glass paints(just coz i have them at my hand) to color them.
(I blew some gold dust onto the green pieces…)
6. Allowed them to dry for a day.
7. Then used my electrician pliers… to get the job done.
8. The white discs used are nor made by me but some bone beads that i have in my stash.
Making the ear drops 2
I gave them to my friend at office yesterday and guess what???? she wore them today to office….
Though they are a bit bright for today’s chennai weather…. they are simply lovely(probably coz i made themย  :-))

Leave your comments on them……

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2008 4:25 pm

    wow very pretty!!!

  2. iaminchennai permalink
    March 17, 2008 7:09 pm

    Hi….
    I think i recognize your blog….
    are you a member of crochet_india group?

    Thanks for the compliments….

  3. gayathri permalink
    July 26, 2008 4:50 pm

    Hi
    I got the inspiration to make ceramic beads after reading your blog- I have made them and left it to dry- did u use any water while making the dough?
    Another doubt was if this jewellery is worn in the rain Or with sweat will it just loose its shape.

    I live in Bangalore and find it very difficult to get the stuff needed for jewellery making. Did go to a place called Raja market ( the whole sale place) but it is quite expensive here( Spent 250Rs For about 8 strings of beads ) I do come to chennai once or twice a year-I was just wondering if this place in adyar RS fancy store has jewellery making material inc gear wire , beads, ear pins etc and if he is reasonable in terms of cost.This shop is close to a relative’s house and would be easier to go than the T nagar shop.

    Do make more jewellery and show them off in ur blog.

  4. iaminchennai permalink
    July 26, 2008 6:44 pm

    People to get inspired from my blog… yay….

    Nothing will happen to ceramic beads once they are dried thoroughly… may be you can break them with a hammer..

    Now almost every craft store in chennai has jewellery making stuff.. If you go to parrys, you may get them for a reasonable price than in the city craft shops…

    RS Fancy store has beads… but i cant say abt the other stuff…

    I planning to combine knitting, crochet and jewellery… lets see hoe it goes..

  5. September 24, 2008 8:24 pm

    Hi,
    You have inspired me yet again- to try making ceramic beads….Where can I get ceramic powder from? What should I ask for? Is it very costly? What other paints can be used on them?
    Do post more pics…I love your knitting even though I don’t know how to knit ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thank you for the tutorial on bead making…Looking forward to seeing more tutorials here ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. iaminchennai permalink
    September 25, 2008 10:19 am

    Hi Grace,
    Thanks for all the nice words…
    I bought ceramic powder in a hardware store in banglore, in one of those tiny lanes around commercial street – 1kg pack for 10Rs 2 years back ๐Ÿ™‚
    You can ask as ceramic powder or chalk powder in hardware stores or hobby stores. It is also used to decorate pots and tiles. Just explain this and they will give you a pack with a very fine powder. 1 kg will give you tonnes of beads ๐Ÿ™‚
    Acrylic, fabric paints are a good bet to use(anything except water and oil paints).

  7. Deepika permalink
    April 19, 2012 8:24 am

    Really Awesome…No words to describe

Leave a Reply

