Skip to content

Chennai Weekend – My New Hobby

March 3, 2008

Bead Jewellery Making, yes…. Bead Jewellery making is my new hobby.I crossed some sites over the web while surfing and i could stop myself from trying out this popular hobby. I searched over the web for availability of materials in chennai and i couldn’t find any. I found 2-3 persons in chennai taking classes over the weekends but i could not find time and also it was not my style of jewellery (Kundhan Jewellery).Last Weekend, I finally took time off to pick some yarn for the table doiley i was crocheting. I headed to “Raja Thread Stores” off Ranganathan street in T.Nagar. It was closed as it was sunday and thats where i hit the jack pot. I dropped into “Pandian Thread Store” which is opposite to “Raja Thread Stores” and picked up the yarn. I asked the sales woman in my primitive tamil for a ear loop, as she could not understand me, i had to drew it on paper – she told that for any jewellery making stuff i have to go to first floor…. I could belive my ears Jewellery Making Stuff … that too in chennai… 🙂

And there is… A whole section is dedicated to these items. Head Pins, Eye Pins, Spacer Beads, Bead Caps, Lots of Beads, Tiger Tail ( which is called “Gear Wire” locally), Hoops, Ear Posts, Ear loops, other knicks and knacks. Most of the other stuff is for making the Artificial Kundhan Sets, but with a bit of imagination, they can be accomodated into bead jewellery. All the small Items are sold my weight and Large Beads, Ear Posts, Ear Hoops, Ear hooks are sold by number. They dont have a “nose plier” and “flush cutter” i was looking for.. Its out-of-stock!!!!!! So I went into “Saravana Stores” across the street, got into their tools section and got a pair of “nose pliers” ( The one used by electricians :-)). Though its not as fine as the one used for jewellery making… I am so desperate to start, I bought it.

I spent around 100RS on whole, of which 1/3 is for the Plier. I think it is pretty reasonable.

Here are Photos of my findings and the first pair that i made. The beads used are picked from a gypsy on the local train.
jewellery findings
My First ear dropsMy First bead ear drops
The owner of this pair is my friend at office, who loved it and couldn’t belive that i made it……

41 Comments leave one →
  1. Archana permalink
    March 5, 2008 9:57 pm

    Wow! Pretty Earrings. I take classes in jewellery making too. Of course, as you mentioned the kundan type. But, i guess if you learn the basics in that, the bead type becomes much easy. Also, if you could spare the time, visit OSWAL stores at PArrys corner. There, you get lovely beads, sequins for fancy stuff. Btw, your earring looks nice, although it needs a little bit of tweezing in the end.

  2. iaminchennai permalink
    March 9, 2008 10:34 am

    Hi Archana,
    Thanks for the compliments….
    I will definitely visit oswal stores in parrys. I am still not comfortable moving around in chennai, but my mom-in-law was mentioning about making a trip to parrys. Can you tell me where exactly this store is located in parrys?
    Yes I can see that the earrings are not so finely crafted… its my first time and also the pliers am using are not so fine. May be as you said i should attend a class in jewellery making.

  3. kaveri bharath permalink
    March 15, 2008 5:32 pm

    So glad I came across this blog of yours. I’m not one to usually do anything on the net except check my email, and facebook,…. but today I happened to have time and decided to try out a google search….
    I myself am a potter, and I used to make ceramic beads and terracotta jewellery some years back. I have in all these years in Chennai, never managed to find the backing posts for the stud type earing. I myself don’t wear too many hanging earings, and love to make flat beads, which need the flat ear posts, not rings, or loops. I think I need to make a trip to Ranganathan street. 🙂

    • chitra permalink
      August 7, 2012 1:01 pm

      Hi Kaveri I have been looking for someone who could help me in learning teracotta jewellery. Its just too tempting to learn. Iwas wondering if you could help me with it.

  4. iaminchennai permalink
    March 17, 2008 7:03 pm

    Hi Kaveri….
    I saw your other comment also… Thanks a lot for the information on the art material.
    I think you should visit Ranganathan street if you are planning to make some ear studs. Do you have a blog or some of your art work online…. i would love to check them.

  5. BeadsRmyFavrteThings permalink
    March 24, 2008 2:22 pm

    Hi!
    I loved ur blog on beads and came upon it in a search for findings myself. There are not many options for findings in chennai but you can try out some hobby stores. I would love to learn more about ceramic bead-making from you if you can drop me a mail or reply to my comment.
    Tools are very important to get the best finish and you Must invest in the best, try asking a friend to get you some from abroad if you cant find any at the local hobby stores here. There are several ref I go to refresh and learn from time to time, and if you like we can share notes from time to time.
    All the best and enjoy beading away your spare time!

  6. iaminchennai permalink
    March 24, 2008 10:31 pm

    Hi,
    Thanks for dropping by….
    Will try to see if i can get some tools from abroad.

    Will surely enjoy the time beading 🙂

  7. Deepa permalink
    April 10, 2008 5:39 pm

    I tried making some jewelry myself and I am hooked! No beads, no stones,; none of that for me. I made paper quilled jewelry. Take a look at my creations at http://www.flickr.com/photos/25296963@N02/

    • Dipti permalink
      December 7, 2011 11:06 am

      hi.this is dipti here…can i get ur number..ur collection is very nice..u can mail me to diptydesai@rediffmail.com..il be waiting for ur reply..

  8. BeadsRmyFavrteThings permalink
    April 16, 2008 10:51 pm

    Hi!

    Have lost your email ID and been meaning to reply to you. Have some ideas for on you where you can get some things to continue your new hobby. And for crochet, coincidentally am trying out a small handbag myself and need help since am not too great at it!! Have designs for you if you like. Let me know!

  9. May 26, 2008 11:32 am

    Check that link out – Sakhi

  10. SAIJOTHI permalink
    June 16, 2008 4:29 pm

    hi,
    I saw your earrings. It was so cute. I also went for jewellry making classed and made some necklaces for my daughter.

    I see some screw type of thing in your picture, What is that and what we can make out of it?

    Thanks
    Jothi

  11. iaminchennai permalink
    June 17, 2008 10:20 pm

    Hi Jothi,
    The ear-hook i bought was designed like that, i didnt make anything.
    by the way thanks a lot for the comments. I have been thinking of taking some jewellery making classes, but never got around.

  12. saijothi permalink
    June 18, 2008 11:40 pm

    hi,

    thanks for the reply.

    As you said, I am also thinking of taking some classes but time and ideas are not working out.

    One more thing, I am interested in making jewelery but not getting idea about the designs.

    Do you know whether there is any website having sample designs

    Thanks and regards,

    Jothi

  13. June 29, 2008 1:06 pm

    Thankyou for your useful writings. I am collecting information about arts & crafts. write more…

    regards
    Bhagavathy

  14. lalitha permalink
    August 12, 2008 12:49 pm

    hi good job,i stay in bangalore can u say me where i can get tools to make earrings.also can u say me any person who is conducting classes to make earring.and please say me how to contact deepa shekar who is very good in paper earrings from chennai who has already given comments on ur earring
    regards
    lalitha

  15. August 17, 2008 1:21 pm

    hey,
    amazing jewelery there! i’m into jewelery making too.. and if u need some help wit classes, i can tk them! mail me in detail if u want help.. u get raal good beads n materials in pandian bangle stores at ranganathan street!

    sindhu 🙂

  16. iaminchennai permalink
    August 17, 2008 10:12 pm

    Lalitha, I am not sure of places that sell jewellery making stuff in b’lore.
    As for Deepa Shekars contact, i must first check with her if i can pass on the email id to you.

    Sindhu, thanks for your nice words on the jewellery. I want to take some classes but probably its only possible when i take a break from my job 🙂

  17. deepfriedbheja permalink
    August 26, 2008 11:28 pm

    Hi Iaminchennai,
    The earrings are simply gorgeous 🙂 You have inspired me to take up another new hobby- jewelry making! A friend of mine recently returned from the US and got me 3 packets of beads….trying to figure out what to do with them…Thanks to your blog post, I think I’ll get the tools and findings from Ranganathan street and make earrings out of them.
    Further posts and tips on making jewelry would be VERY welcome! I would like to see some posts on Craft Classes in Chennai too…about few names or places for sewing, knitting and crochet, painting, jewelry making etc would be really helpful
    Great Blog!All the best for your crafty endeavors!!

  18. iaminchennai permalink
    August 28, 2008 9:58 am

    Hi,
    Thanks for the nice words. Its quite Busy at the office and i am unable find some quality time for my blog 🙂 probably that will alll chenage with the end of this month.

    I collected details about some craft classes in Chennai, will update them soon on my blog.

  19. September 13, 2008 3:09 pm

    Where can I buy stiffening glue spray (used for paper craft) in Chennai?

  20. Girija permalink
    September 16, 2008 8:21 am

    The blue bead earrings is very pretty. I was wondering if any of you make custom costume/bead/kundan jewelery for order.

  21. iaminchennai permalink
    September 16, 2008 10:08 am

    Check out with Anusha in Chennai. You can get the details on my blog post here http://iaminchennai.wordpress.com/2008/08/30/chennai-news-clipping/ (Check the comment section for the Phone number)

  22. sobha permalink
    October 30, 2008 10:39 am

    can anyone give me the add of jewel making class near mylaopore or adayar

  23. Bookworm74 permalink
    December 17, 2008 3:59 pm

    Hi

    I went to a jewelry class last weekend with a person called soundarya in thiruvanmiyur. She was very helpful and informative. Again she taught kundan jewelry but the same principles apply to any other type of jewelry making as well.

  24. January 3, 2009 7:10 am

    Hi All,

    It just happened for to come across the blog, it is really good to see more no of interested users are willing to participate in the paper craft work.

    Actually I am designing a web site called http://www.cafetalks.com, it is a social networking community website, but i want it to be a community for the specific one, so i choosen the topic called papercrafts.

    and i am searching for the users who are all interested in the paper craft, and i found this blog.

    in cafetalks, u can uload photos,videos for our making of papercraft.. share it with others u can rate it , comment it for the making, also you can maintain your profiles like facebook,myspace etc.. there are more forums and blogs, events and many more..

    but plz dont visit now, i have not launched yet, it s been under construction.

    i wish u all can join and reach out this world web.
    let me know your reply. Will u all be willing to join..

    we all can make a community and do some thing better on this.

    wat do u say ?

    expectin ur reply friends…
    cafetalks.com will be maintained by me, u all dont want to pay for it, it is absolutly free for the people who are all interested in it.

    Thanks
    saro

  25. nagajyothi permalink
    January 15, 2009 12:21 am

    hii wonderful start. i am into jewellery making too and i do stuff depending on the orders. do check my collection at motleylife24into7.blogspot.com

  26. January 15, 2009 7:11 pm

    Congratulations on a new hobby. It looks really nice. Keep up the good work. I think you might be interested to have a look on http://www.hobbything.com/ – social hobby network. You can show what your hobby is all about, meet like-minded people and share your experiences as well. Plus you can get free exposure for your work too.

    All the best,

    Dmitri

  27. ANU permalink
    February 20, 2009 12:48 pm

    HI in chennai were I can get jewel materials…………..thankyou………..

  28. sharan permalink
    May 5, 2009 12:57 am

    glad i came across ur blog , i have never heard of pandian store hope to visit it soon… can u tell me the exact location of this store.

  29. May 24, 2009 12:04 pm

    Hi,

    Nice to see your post about jewels making and beads. I also learnt jewels making. And love to work with different beads. Visit my site http://www.only-ladies.com. I have posted my works.

    And where are u in chennai. I am in Mogapair

    Reagards
    sharmila

  30. Anu permalink
    November 9, 2009 2:33 pm

    Hi all..
    Its really very nice to see so many interested in jewellery making……
    Just wanted to share tht you can try making bangles also with the beads…U can get the base bangels in the raja stores in Tamabaram…and make it done along with thread or strings….Best of luck..

    Anu

  31. Anu permalink
    November 9, 2009 2:42 pm

    Hi all..

    Sorry…Raja stores is not in tambaram….Its mambalam(T nagar ranganathan street)…..

  32. Deepika permalink
    April 19, 2012 8:28 am

    Thanks a lot my friend…i was searching to jewellery making stuff and got to see your blog…really awesome thanks for the information……I am also in to jewellery making nice to see people with the same hobby….can u please help me out with the contact number of that shop….

  33. July 9, 2013 2:54 pm

    Hi iam Priya from MRC nagar.( near Santhome)I deal in Tibetan Pendants and earrings and Iam looking out for a person who can help me with Beading earrings and Malas!!any lead/help..please contact me at 9884476750.

  34. September 19, 2013 1:03 pm

    Was so happy…I spotted your blog. I was looking for these supplies and found out where to buy from your blog. Thanks a ton. Ur earrings look so cute.

  35. parvz permalink
    November 5, 2014 4:20 am

    Hi guys soo quick question i live in the uk and i also taken up jewellery making and i wanted to know if you know any wholesalers that sell kundan stones? Everywhere i go or search i cant find it or dont know what its specifically called please help me i have been searching for 3months for the stones and getting frustrated.x (P.s i just need the stones)

  36. sneha permalink
    February 10, 2015 3:32 pm

    Hi i have one query. I need the loops, beads, threads, connector, ear pins etc for making earrings. could you please suggest where can i get them online? -sneha

  37. acchu permalink
    May 12, 2015 9:47 am

    Hi guys ,

    where can I get the screw and pin for making stud type earrings?

Trackbacks

  1. My first earrings « Good Grace’s Craft Blog

Leave a Reply

